Gulf 16.. Saudi Arabia is the champion without losing.. and Yemen records the first attendance

The sixteenth Gulf Cup was held in the State of Kuwait, from December 26, 2003 to January 11, 2004. All matches were held at Kuwait Club Stadium.

Participated in this copy: Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Emirates, Oman, Qatar, and Yemen.

Over the course of 21 matches in the championship, 46 goals were scored, and Al-Akhdar Al-Saudi came as the champion with 14 points through 6 matches, from 4 wins, 1 draw, and 1 loss.

While Qatar came third with 9 points, from two wins, three draws and a loss, then Oman came fourth with 8 points, from two wins, two draws and two losses, the UAE came fifth with seven points, from two wins, a draw and three losses, Kuwait sixth with 5 points, from one win, two draws and three losses, and finally the Yemeni team with a single point from a 1/1 draw against Oman, Shadi Jamal scored for Yemen, becoming the scorer of the first goal for Yemen in the history of the Gulf tournaments, while the goal for Oman was scored by midfield star Fawzi Bashir.

Bahraini player Talal Youssef won the tournament’s top scorer award with five goals, Bahraini Mohammed Salmeen won the best player award, while Omani goalkeeper Ali Al Habsi won the best goalkeeper award.

Back to top button