Gulf 20.. a tenth title for Kuwait.. and a first hosting for Yemen

For the first time, Aden hosted the 2010 Arabian Gulf Cup in its twentieth edition, and its competitions took place from November 22 to December 5, and this version celebrated the fortieth anniversary of the cup, and for the first time all matches were held on artificial turf.
The opening match brought together the host Yemen and Saudi Arabia at the May 22 Stadium in Aden.

The 8 teams participated in this version, and the draw was held on August 22, 2010. The host Yemen was placed at the head of the first group, along with Kuwait, Saudi Arabia and Qatar, while Oman placed the defending champion at the head of the second group, along with the Emirates, Bahrain and Iraq.

From the first group, Kuwait qualified with 7 points from two wins and a draw, and Saudi Arabia came second with 5 points from a win and two draws.

In the semi-finals, Kuwait defeated Iraq with a penalty shootout 5/4, after the end of the regular and extra time with a draw 2/2, and Saudi Arabia beat the UAE 1/0, so that the Kuwaiti Blue met its Saudi brother Al-Akhdar in the closing match that clinched the tenth title for Kuwait, where it ended 1/0, with the goal of Walid Jumaa, who scored in extra time, and Al-Akhdar came runner-up for the second time in a row.

The tournament witnessed the scoring of 27 goals in 15 matches. Badr Al-Mutawa and Alaa Abdel-Zahra won the top scorer award with three goals each, while Fahd Al-Enezi was the best player and Nawaf Al-Khalidi was the best goalkeeper.

Back to top button